Pushing the Clouds Away

 

 
Clouds are not
the cheeks of angels
you know
they’re only clouds.
Friendly sometimes,
but you can never be sure.
If I had longer arms
I’d push the clouds away
or make them hang
above the water
somewhere else,
but I’m just a man
who needs and wants,
mostly things he’ll never have.
Looking for that thing
that’s hardest to find…
himself.
I’ve been going
a long time now
along the way
I’ve learned some things.
You have to make the good times yourself
take the little times
and make them into big times
and save the times
that are alright
for the ones
that aren’t so good.
I’ve never been able
to push the clouds away
by myself.
Help me.
Please.

Rod Mckuen 1967

                                                                              

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rusty's
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 11:05:37

    Aww hun, I wish I could push those clouds away for you. We all have bad days dear but I know where you are coming from. Let me just say this:If I could catch a rainbowI would do it just for youAnd share with you its beautyOn the days you\’re feeling blue. If I could build a mountainYou could call your very ownA place to find serenityA place to be alone. If I could take your troublesI would toss them in the seaBut all these things I\’m findingAre impossible for me. I cannot build a mountainOr catch a rainbow fairBut let me be what I know best:A friend that\’s always there.That much I can do. Take care hun and God bless…………….Rusty ((HUGS))

    Reply

  2. Sherry
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 11:09:32

    Are you having a bad day Rhonda? Sending hugs your way.sherry

    Reply

  3. Embrace
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 11:29:19

    This is so Beautiful .. so real to me. Thanks for this one. Sending a Hug to you…or two or three . if you need more I have more.Lisa xoI better get back to work. But so glad I came by here today.

    Reply

  4. Embrace
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 11:30:04

    and have a very Peaceful Day.

    Reply

  5. Evelyn
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 11:54:09

    Ronda, that is one of my favorite Rod Mckuen Poems. Thanks for sharing.Evie

    Reply

  6. Brett
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 12:51:25

    Rows and flows of angel hairAnd ice cream castles in the airAnd feather canyons everywhereI\’ve looked at clouds that wayBut now they only block the sunThey rain and snow on everyoneSo many things I would have doneBut clouds got in my wayI\’ve looked at clouds from both sides now,from up and down, and still somehowit\’s cloud illusions I recall.I really don\’t know clouds at all.Moons and Junes and ferris wheelsthe dizzy dancing way you feelas every fairy tale comes real; I\’ve looked at love that way.But now it\’s just another show. You leave \’em laughing when you goand if you care, don\’t let them know, don\’t give yourself away.I\’ve looked at love from both sides now,from give and take, and still somehowit\’s love\’s illusions I recall.I really don\’t know love at all.Tears and fears and feeling proudto say "I love you" right out loud,dreams and schemes and circus crowds, I\’ve looked at life that way.But now old friends are acting strange, they shake their heads, they sayI\’ve changed.Well, Something\’s lost but something\’s gained in living every day.I\’ve looked at life from both sides now,from win and lose, and still somehowit\’s life\’s illusions I recall.I really don\’t know life at all.I\’ve looked at life from both sides now,from up and down, and still somehowit\’s life\’s illusions I recall.I really don\’t know life at all.

    Reply

  7. J W
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 13:04:36

    Without the clouds how could we take joy in the sunshine? A courageous and beautifully written post. There is a measure of comfort in knowing that you are never alone. We find ourselves in the worst of times. You are much stronger than you think. One day at a time my friend. Joy awaits.John

    Reply

  8. Gill.
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 14:45:23

    Lovely poem Rhonda. If you have written this as you are feeling down then know I am thinking of you hun. Cheer up as tomorrow is another day. Take care.Hugs Gill. xx

    Reply

  9. Zeynep
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 15:28:41

    I like the poem Rhonda. And that is a fantastic picture. But I wish people always have a sunny sky, without clouds. Peace, Zeynep xx

    Reply

  10. Sheila
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 16:09:43

    That\’s a beautiful poem.

    Reply

  11. nita
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 16:49:11

    hi rhonda, yes I find it difficult to push the clouds away by myself. praise god he is there to help me, (us) the picture is awesome, and the precious moments, to be clung to, that we may hang on, a shield, when the clouds threaten to overwhelm us. hugs nita.

    Reply

  12. Adrian
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 17:18:58

    Love the poem, but I think that, \’clouds\’ helps us to keep things in perspective! :-)Adrian

    Reply

  13. Angel eyes
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 17:47:22

    very true i guess all we may do is try to tresur the sunshine angel eyes

    Reply

  14. Beth
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 18:41:50

    It is difficult to push the clouds away all by ourselves. I hope the clouds in your sky part and reveal a beautiful sunshiny day.

    Reply

  15. Dianne
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 10:34:52

    Rhonda, we all have days when we want to push the clouds away. There are other days, I just feel like dancing with the clouds. Sometimes they look big and scary and other times they look like cotton candy and seem so sweet. I love to look and find funny little animals and such in the clouds and that makes me feel like a carefree child once again. On hot , summer days , I welcome the shade as they protect me from the extreme heat and harmful rays. Whatever the case I hope all is well and we as your friends can help push those nasty clouds away with our careing words and love and hugs sent your way.May God fill you with His peace of mind and heart on those cloudy days. You are a Blessing to so many, May you be Blessed this day and everyday.Awesome photo and poem filled with emotion and one we can all relate too.Love and Hugs coming your way. Dianne :)P.S You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

  16. Joe
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 11:48:25

    One thing that I\’ve tried to hold onto in my life is the fact that my control over circumstance is not the key to happiness. It doesn\’t appear today what tomorrow may be. This is where faith continues to be the anchor to my soul. It\’s not always easy to see the forest for the trees but I know through it all God has a plan.

    Reply

  17. Here I Am
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 04:00:58

    I have never really wanted to push the clouds away. I have always accepted them as part of the sky. Now I must work on accepting other things as part of life.

    Reply

  18. Unknown
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 00:27:08

    To me, there are three things we all should do every day. We should do this every day of our lives. Number one is laugh. You should laugh every day. Number two is think. You should spend some time in thought. And number three is, you should have your emotions moved to tears, could be happiness or joy. But think about it. If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that\’s a full day. That\’s a heck of a day. You do that seven days a week, you\’re going to have something special. The happiest of people don\’t necessarily have the best of everything;they just make the most of everything that comes alongtheir way. Most people are searching for happiness. They\’re looking for it. They\’re trying to find it in someone, or something outside of themselves. That\’s a fundamental mistake. Happiness is something that you are, and it comes from the way you think.So… if you cannot change a situation, try changing your attitude. Works for me. :o)

    Reply

  19. freckles
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 17:59:42

    this is lovely hun. whatever you are going through right now take care ~x~http://i368.photobucket.com/albums/oo124/hd_rodulfa/LoveNeverFails.jpg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

