Children Learn What They Live

 

As I stood over Emma’s crib watching her sleep, I thought to myself how I always want her to feel safe, happy and loved.
My wish is that we, as parents, can do our best to teach our children the values that will enrich their lives forever and that they will remember what we taught them…
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheila
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 13:12:27

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! Nothing could be more true. I truly believe there are so many problems in the world today because people don\’t take time to love and encourage their children. Those children grow up and ignore their own children. Can you imagine the way the world would change for the better within just a few generations if only a few people raised their children the way the video suggested and then their children did the same? I\’m thankful for parents like you who know how to share love and encouragement. Because of you, there\’s hope for a better tomorrow.

    Reply

  2. Sara
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 14:01:20

    this is sooo true. GREAT post and thanks for putting it up here.

    Reply

  3. Yours Truly
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 14:02:57

     
    Hi  Rhonda,
    I can\’t see the video because I don\’t have a player, but my thought is this:  with parenting such an important task, why aren\’t parenting skills taught in every high school?  Basic skills in how to do simple house repairs, basic knowledge about common medical problems and treatments, basic knowledge about how to do taxes, basic skills in negotiating and mediating, basic skills in being a teamleader,etc. really are essential, yet are not taught?
    Peace,
    ~Truly
     

    Reply

  4. Beth
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 14:32:56

    Wonderful!!! If only parents would do these things!

    Reply

  5. Joe
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 15:24:29

    How important these thing are!  I try to the best of my ability to do this each and every day.  Teaching my own children in a home schooling invironment has certainly helped. I\’m blessed as a dad to actually spend a lot of time with my children and teaching them is a huge privlege!  I may not be perfect but it\’s my total desire to see my children surpass me in every single way!

    Reply

  6. wees
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 15:29:29

    This was my vow my first son was born and though i might failed at times, I tried to be always available for chats because once teenagers they know they can trust you and share their dreams and disapointments with you because they know a mother will always be there when everything else fails them, her love is unconditional and nothing on earth can destroy this deep love – it is patient and unselfish – everlasting  with a tender love Jig man I can go on and on with this !!!!!! But you can have peace as said Emma is one lucky girl ……
    Caroline
     
     

    Reply

  7. Ralph
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 18:22:04

    Thanks for sharing this… i just hope there are other parents that teach these to there children.  my grandchildren are learning thsi now.  take care, ralph

    Reply

  8. Miss Beth
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 22:33:33

    This precious child is in good hands and i dont think you have to worry about her ever not feeling safe. I couldnt watch the video as the computer i am on doesnt have a flash player. If you have concerns at this point in her life , it is evident that you are not going to let anything get in the way of being a great parent and role model for her.

    Reply

  9. Al's
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 23:10:56

    A great post my friend.
    Hugs,
    Al

    Reply

  10. Theresa
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 23:48:38

    Great post Rhonda! I think a lot of parents are just trying to "get through the day" and forget to stick to the big plan. They lose focus of the things they want to teach thier kids or maybe never had a plan to start with.

    Reply

  11. H
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 23:50:59

    Hi Rhonda … That is so special watching Emma sleeping … the video was awesome .. I got all choked up .. take care always, love H xo

    Reply

  12. Lizzie-Beth4Him
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 04:14:14

    Another wonderful thing about having values is how they enrich others, as well as ourselves, and cause us to be happier for the sharing of them.  I especially liked Ann Landers quote.  Emma is blessed to have a mommy who cares so much about the value of values for her daughter.
     
    My husband and I have discussed how the older we get the more we remember back to the things our parents said, and taught us, by actions as well as words.  I can\’t imagine that Emma will forget either. 
     
          

    Reply

  13. Angel eyes
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 08:32:22

    love ly space rhonda and lovely little girl emma  angel eyes

    Reply

  14. Angel eyes
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 08:32:41

    love ly space rhonda and lovely little girl emma  angel eyes

    Reply

Leave a Reply

